Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
A1 National Van Hire Support Ticket - Deposit not refunded

A1 National Van Hire Support Ticket

Deposit not refunded

Created By: EA83's Picture EA83 Last Reply: 's Picture
Priority Level: [Emergency] Status: [Open]
Created: 7 years ago Last Updated: 6 years ago
Department: General Replies: 7

These transactions were for Van Hire. As with normal hire agreements, the sums were made up of the cost of booking (hire fee), VAT and a refundable security deposit. The transactions consisted of the following:
• £575.59 = £62.99 Cost of booking + £12.60 VAT + £500 refundable deposit
• £325.59 = £62.99 Cost of booking + £12.60 VAT + £250 refundable deposit

I have since contacted A1 National Car and Van Hire on several different occasions to enquire on the status of these refunds. I attach three emails I sent to A1 National Car and Van Hire (dated 05/01/2012, 25/01/2012 and 25/01/2012) asking about these refunds. I have received no response to these emails.
I have also telephoned A1 National Car and Van hire on over 10 occasions in this time period. On these calls, I have been given a wide range of excuses as to why the refunds have not been made or delaying tactics:
• Initially I was told the refunds had been made and that the money would be in my account in a couple of days
• Later I was told that I would need to speak to the Accounts department to find out why the refunds had not been made
• I was subsequently told that the Accounts department is “a back office team” and that customers are not allowed to speak to anyone in the Accounts department
• I was told that no managers were available to speak to me – they were all “in calls and meetings”, but that a manager would call me back. No manager called me back.
• Finally I spoke to a manager (Mick Daniels) at 10.15 on 25/01/2012. He told me he would look into the details and speak to “Streamline” (card service provider) and call me back within one hour. He did not call me back.
• On the afternoon of 25/01/2012 I contacted Mick Daniels again. He said that A1 National Car and Van Hire had attempted to make a refund early in January but that my card provider (American Express) had rejected the refund. He said that the refunds would now be made and that I would receive the money within 2 working days. He also said that he would send me an email “within an hour” to confirm that the refunds had been made.
• Having not received the refunds by 16.00 on 27/01/2012 I called A1 National Car and Van Hire and spoke to a “supervisor” named David Norris. He said the money would take time to clear “as it is being refunded to a credit card, not a bank account” and that they funds would be in my account by the end of 30/01/2012.

• At the time of writing (28/01/2012), I have not received either the refunds or the email confirming that they have been made.


CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Read the replies to this ticket Read the replies to this ticket
Write a review about !
Create a support ticket for !
Watch videos
More A1 National Van Hire Reviews and Complaints More A1 National Van Hire reviews, complaints, compliments and support tickets
BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Company was claimed This company has partnered with MeasuredUp and uses it to answer your customer questions!
Link to MeasuredUp Get the Free Customer Service Excellence icon for your site
Take the pledge Click here to take the pledge




Share This Ticket

Bookmark/Share this review
Tweet this   Digg   Facebook   StumbleUpon   del.icio.us   Google

Ticket Replies


geordie37 says: (7 years ago)
 0
I am also fighting for the return of my deposit from these rogues. several phone calls, numerous emails, and empty promises. It seems this is a regular occurence with this company, i have now contacted trading standard, BBC watchdog, and threatened them with legal action.
Not sure i will get any response or where to go from here.
Please let me know how you get on.



cheesedoff says: (7 years ago)
 0
I have also had the same thing happen. Numerous phone calls later and still waiting for the £500 deposit to come back ..
I too have contacted BBC Watchdog and will be seeking legal advice tomorrow. If more people phone trading standards then they will HAVE to do something?
Staying hopefull ....
If anyone succeeds in getting their money back please let others know how. I shall keep returning as i have a feeling ( staying polite ) that the positive comments on here are A1 trying to cover their backsides.



Post a reply for this ticket

login with Facebook and share your reviews

Warning: Do not post sensitive or secret information such as your credit
card number here.

More A1 National Van Hire reviews and tickets

Similar reviews and tickets


[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team